The Palazzo Margherita was designed by the distinguished Italian Architect Gaetano Koch and this gallery, with its stunning painted and gilt stucco decoration—with its excellent trompe-l’oeils – was executed by Giovanni Caprenesi, between 1886-1890 for Prince Boncompagni Ludovisi. It was named for Italy’s beloved Queen Mother Margherita when it became her residence at the beginning of the twentieth century. It was purchased by the US Government in 1946 to serve as the embassy. The grand Gallery, one of the most significant spaces of the Palazzo is on the main floor, the so-called piano nobile, leading to the ambassador’s office.
The gallery now suffers from deterioration, including flaking and loss of paint layers as well as complete overpainting. A complete survey and analysis in 2014 resulted in a thorough condition assessment, documentation and plan for restoration of the space.